Make your own free website on Tripod.com

Sandra Redmond Thacker

Birthdate: March 15, 

7463 School Ave
Dundalk, MD 21222
 sammgb75@yahoo.com

410-285-6322 (work)

College

After graduation I went to Winthrop College in Rock Hill, SC. I spent two years there as a Physical Ed. Major taking Pre-med courses. I didn't want to be a doctor so I left there and came back to Baltimore. I went to Essex Community College for one semester, when wanderlust struck and I took off to live in Hawaii for a year. I returned in time to jump back in to ECC in Jan., 1971 and received an AA degree the end of the semester and also found my calling. I went on to receive my BS from Towson State in Psychology. I always said I wouldn't go back to school, but last year my employer gave me an opportunity I couldn't refuse. I am currently in a Master's degree program for Rehabilitation Counseling at The George Washington University.

Employment

My first "real" job was working for Division of Vocational Rehabilitation (DVR) at the MD Rehabilitation Center. In 1988, I went to work for the National Multiple Sclerosis Society, MD Chapter. I was able to do a lot of different things there including developing the Chapters employment program, working on legislation , advocacy issues and lobbying at both the State and Federal levels. I worked on many projects and programs the 5+ years I worked there and it was a very rewarding experience. In 1995, I came back to DVR, which has changed it's name to Division of Rehabilitation Services (DORS). They had an opening for a vocational counselor in the Dundalk office and I jumped at the chance to work there. Our organization works with individuals with disabilities to get them back to work. Although we are under the State Dept of Education we are mostly Federally funded and mandated program. If anyone is interested in our services, please give me a call.

Marriage

I was married to Dave Moses in 1980 and divorced in 1990.

Children

We have one child, D. Ryan Moses born in 3/3/83. He is currently a Sophomore at DHS.

Grandchildren

NO!

Hobbies

About all I have time to do now is work , go to school (2 courses per semester) , coordinate the Greeters for Sunday at our Church of about 4,000 people and take a little time for my Son and my 88 year old Mom. I use to like to do gardening , do foster care for cats, sing in our Church choir and travel. I almost forgot to mention we have a black Lab named Chief and a calico kitty named Sassafras. Our biggest trip was in the summer of 1998. Ryan and I went to Spain and France. I have had numerous trips around the country, but still have a lot to see. I also like to do different hand crafts like knitting and counted cross-stitch. I am also interested in collecting face mugs or mugs with faces. The other thing I collect is pink depression, usually in the Cherry Blossom design. I like to go to auctions or antiquing. Oh, almost forgot, I have a 1975 MGB which I bought new and it is now an antique. In the past I have done a lot of camping and whitewater rafting.

Achievements

I was pictured in the June, 1976 issue of National Geo. in an article on West Virginia. I was rafting on the Gauley River. If you see the picture, I'm the one in the middle with the gold jacket. The only other claim to fame is that I received a first-place ribbon at the MD State Fair for my son's Christening dress which I sewed.

Groups

Other than some professional organizations, I belong to MG's of Baltimore, Ltd. ( I own a 1975 MGB which I bought new).

Hit Counter   since this page was updated on 05/23/2011